Drybrook u16s vs Coney Hill u16s – County Cup

Drybrook u16s 65pts
Coney Hill u16s 7pts

With the dedication of the coaches and managers and the team showing improvement recently, Drybrook U16s clicked in this County Cup encounter against Coney Hill. Historically, Drybrook have struggled against Coney Hill but on this occasion got off to an excellent start and eventually ran out comfortable winners.

Star man for Drybrook was Ollie Bailey who ran in four tries with the first coming less than a minute from the start. The ball was caught by Brad Morgan from the kick off and distributed to outside centre Bailey who outpaced the Coney Hill defenders from inside his own half. Rohan Parry converted. Five minutes later it was Bailey again running in from his own half in very similar fashion to his first try.

With confidence building, Drybrooks forwards began to dominate. Powerful lock forward Ben Jones stood out and he crashed over from a five metre lineout. Flanker Lee Wakefield (who seems to be flourishing with a change of position from fullback) was next to score. Then winger Morgan Hancock got over the line, then Bailey scored with his third before centre Rohan Parry jinked his way to the line for another.

Parry converted four in the first half making the score 43 points to nil.

As in the first half, Drybrook began briskly with Brad Morgan getting into the try scoring action and Parry converting. Wakefield scored another as did Morgan. A barnstorming run of 45 metres by Ben Jones after catching the restart kick created the ruck from which Morgan was to benefit.

Coney Hill girded their loins and put a few phases together resulting in a consolation try and conversion. Drybrook bounced back with a final flurry and Bailey skipped over for his fourth score.

Overall this was a fifteen man display, but worthy of particular mentions are Bailey the try scoring star, Jones for his powerful running, half backs Jack Worgan and Brad Morgan who ran the show and Morgan Hancock for some immense tackles.

Drybrook u16 Squad: Aiden Haynes, Ben Jones, Brad Morgan, Caleb Lloyd, George Jelly, Jack Worgan, Jarred Field, Lee Wakefield, Lewis Handley, Louis Jayne, Lucas Gardner, Morgan Hancock, Ollie Bailey, Riley Scriven, Rohan Parry