Ben Large Scoops Top Award


Skipper Ben Large was a popular winner of the 1st XV player of the year award at the club’s annual dinner and presentation evening held on 20th May. The talented centre led form the front throughout the season and put in a number of star performances.
Back-row man Mitch Bourne again won the coaches player of the year nomination with the HarrowHill twins Mitch Baldwin and Sam Peaper sharing the most appearances shield having played in every game.
Club treasurer Dean Large ensured a good evening for his family by picking up the clubman of the year award for the second year in succession.
The main guests were Gloucestershire RFU President Mr Jeff Tyler and former Gloucester and Worcester Warriors hooker Chris Fortey and they helped present the awards at the end of the evening.
One notable absentee was master of ceremonies Chris Tingle, who was away at an Uncle Fester look-a-like convention, but his place was admirably filled by Vice-chairman Chris Rawlings.
The evening also gave us the opportunity to say farewell to assistant coach Luke “Jersey” Fisher who was presented with a tankard and thanked for his contribution over the years. The popular hooker cum flanker cum centre is leaving to take up the head coach role at Hereford RFC. His enthusiasm, versatility, and never say die attitude will be sorely missed.
Summary of Awards given at club dinner – 2015/16
1. 300 club appearances badges – Andy Milner & Steve Turley,
2. 200 1st XV appearance badge – Thomas Treherne.
3. Tony Thomas Veteran of the Year Trophy – Jimmy Ryder
4. Bill Duggan Cup for Clubman of The Year – Dean Large
5. Vice Presidents Cup for Young Player of The Year – Will Greenway
6. Austin Rawlings Cup for 3rd XV Player of the Year – Adam Harris
7. 3rd XV manager’s player of the year – Matt Freeman
8. United XV Cup for 2nd XV Player of the Year – Ashley Jennings
9. United XV manager’s player of the year – Ashley Jennings
8. Bill Ward Shield for most 1st XV appearances – Mitch Baldwin/Sam Peaper 27
9. 1st XV Coaches player of the year – Mitch Bourne
10. Rick Mustoe Cup for 1st XV Player of the Year – Ben Large