Drybrook win the Whistler Trophy

Drybrook were the delighted recipients of the coveted Whistler Trophy at the recent Referee’s Society annual dinner held on 17th April.

The trophy is given to the club that has given referees the most support and best welcome on and off the pitch. This is the second time that Drybrook have won the award – 2010 being the last occasion.

Club committee men Andy Milner and Tony “Shake & Vac” Suter were on hand to receive the award on behalf of the club from Society chairman Adrian Danks.

Special mention must be made of the contribution of the club’s referee contact Clive “Smiler” Boughton, fixture secretary Mr Andy Milner, head grounds man Ian ”Sandy” Pritchard and welcoming aficionado Mr Derrick Trigg.

A spokesman from the society said, “It makes a world of difference if someone comes to say hello when you arrive, buys you a drink at the bar and takes time out to talk to you”.